Sign In

Faculty of Science and Information Technology


About the Faculty
Formed in 2011, the Faculty of Science and Information Technology consists of four departments namely Computer & Information Sciences Department, Fundamental & Applied Sciences Department, Geoscience Department and Management & Humanities Department.
Computer and Information Sciences Department
Since its establishment in 1997, the Computer & Information Sciences (CIS) Department has grown with diverse background of academic and support staff with rich industrial experiences as well as in the academia. We are located at Block 01 and 02 of the Academic Building with fully equipped ICT labs.
Fundamental and Applied Sciences Department
The Fundamental and Applied Sciences Department (FASD) was established on 1 April 2009, and was formerly known as the Foundation Studies Department (FSD). The formation of FASD would certainly assist UTP in accelerating its move towards becoming a research university.
Geoscience Department
The Geoscience Department (GSC) at Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS was established in 2006 and had its first batch of Petroleum Geoscience undergraduate students in January 2009. In 2018, the department is under the Faculty of Science & Information Technology.
Management and Humanities Department
The Department was established in 1997. The department which first started off as the General Studies programme was later renamed as Department of Management & Humanities and now it is called Management & Humanities Department (MH).