Sign In

History finally written for UTP Rugby team

(18 November 2018)


​It was what many in UTP had been waiting for when it's rugby team, UTP Drillers, finally claimed their first ever MASISWA 15s 2018 Rugby Championship at MMU Melaka. ​

The Drillers beat UniKL RC 27-24 in the finals and defeated City University of Malaysia, 45-12 in the semi-finals.
As champions, the Drillers walked away with a trophy, medals and cash of RM1,500. Other teams that took part in the championship were MMU Melaka, MSU, Standford College Melaka and UNITEN.

Having won this year's tournament, the Drillers is now the number one rugby team among private institutions in Malaysia.​

The team also book a ticket to qualify for the coveted Super 8 IPT Rugby Championship, that features only the best eight rugby teams of higher education institution all over Malaysia. The championship is organised annually by the Ministry of Higher Education.​