Sign In

​UTP Bags 27 Medals at SIRIM Expo

(18 – 19 April 2017)

Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) recorded an outstanding achievement when all of its 27 exhibits won medals at the SIRIM Invention, Innovation & Technology Expo (SI2TE) 2017 recently.  This achievement was a testimony of the university's strength in its aspiration to be a centre of innovation and creativity and globally prominent.


UTP won 13 gold, 11 silver and 3 bronze medals and three special awards. 




The three special awards were SI2TE Special Award for UTP, Si2TE Best of The Best Award for Mohd Faizairi Mohd Nor's Rural Run River Pico Hydro (R3PH) and Si2TE Green Invention Award for Professor Dr Noorhana Yahya's  Next Generation Green and Economical Urea.    


The R3PH is designed to generate electrical energy through a run-of-river application pico hydro turbine.  This small scale hydro turbine of 0.5 to 5 kW power is designed to provide basic need to rural and remote communities that require only a small amount of electricity, such as to power one or two fluorescent light bulbs and a TV or radio in 50 or so homes.  It is cost effective and environmentally friendly. 

The R3PH technology provides alternative energy source that can be coupled with the existing solar hybrid configuration.  Its design is intended to reduce the impact of large hydro schemes that can disrupt the eco system and the environment.


The Next Generation Green and Economical Urea is a new nitrogen-based enhanced fertiliser green production and slow release properties.  The slow release properties are able to enhance paddy yield from 60% - 95% compared to conventional urea. The method is green since it uses electromagnetic instead of Haber-Bosch process.


SI2TE 2017 was organised by SIRIM Industrial Research and SIRIM Berhad and supported by Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI), Malaysia. It was held from 18 -19 April 2017 at SIRIM Berhad's Advanced Materials Research Centre in Kulim, Kedah.


The event highlighted research products and promoted the culture of research and innovation, not only among the SIRIM's members and the industrial players but also among participants from local and foreign institutions of lower and higher education.


Congratulations to all the winners!


No Inventor Product Award Special Award
1 Mohd Faizairi Mohd Nor Rural Run River Pico Hydro (R3PH) Gold Si2TE Best of The Best Award
2 Professor Dr Noorhana Yahya Next Generation Green and Economical Urea Gold Si2TE Green Invention Award
3 Professor Dr Norani Muti Mohamed Stand Alone Solar Panel for Hydrogen Production Gold



4 Associate Professor Dr Shamsul Rahman Mohamed Kutty Integrated Suspended Growth Reactor (i – SGBR) Gold
5 Associate Professor Dr Ahmad Majdi Abdul Rani Slip On Sprocket Gold
6 Associate Professor Dr Bashar S Mohammed THERECOBLOCK Gold
7 Associate Professor Dr Mohd Haris Md Khir ELECTRO-POWER Gold
8 Associate Professor Ir Dr Zuhairi Hj Baharudin RF MEMS Tunable Filter Gold
9 Associate Professor Dr Mohamed Hasnain Isa Anaerobic-Coupled Integrated Anoxic Aerobic Reactor (AN-ISA REACTOR) Gold
10 Associate Professor Dr Khamaruzaman Wan Yusof INDRA Smart Storm Drainage Unit Gold
11 Associate Professor Dr Faiz Ahmad Biocompatible Modified 316l Stainless Steel Dental Implants Gold
12 Dr Noreen Izza Arshad Elderband & Elderalert Gold

Kok Tze Lin – Chemical Engineering student

Chow Zi Jie – Chemical Engineering student

Yau Yong Song – Chemical Engineering student

Hoo Jian Jun – Mechanical Engineering student

Ong Zhong Yi – Electrical & Electronic Engineering student



Associate Professor Dr Balbir Singh Mahinder Singh

Mohd Zamri Abdullah

Foot-Controlled Elevator (FCE) Gold
14 Professor Dr Nasir Shafiq Green Nano Silika Gel Extracted From Sugarcane Bagasse Silver
15 Associate Professor Dr Faiz Ahmad Nanocomposite Heat Sink for LED Light Applications Silver
16 Associate Professor Ir Dr. Nursyarizal Mohd Nor On-Line Monitoring For Domestic Distribution Box (AUPRESS) Silver
17 Associate Professor Dr Tang Tong Boon Brain Navi Silver
18 Associate Professor Dr Wong Peng Wen Dual Band Interdigital Filter Silver
19 Associate Professor Dr Ahmad Kamil Mahmood RESCUE-I Monitoring System for Fireman Silver
20 Dr Aamir Hussain Bhat Biopolymer Blend Of PLA and PHBV based nanobiocomposites for packaging applications Silver
21 Dr Yeong Yin Fong Development of Advanced Nanocomposite Membranes Containing Innovatives Couple Zeolitic Imidazolate Framework Silver
22 Dr Syahrir Ridha Drill-GeoCem for CO2 Acidic Wells & Constructions Silver
23 Dr Nurlidia Mansor THIOMAX Fertilizer Additives Silver

Vivekka Olivia John – Civil Engineering Student

Scholastica Rayner – Civil Engineering Student

Ho Chit Seng – Chemical Engineering student



Associate Professor Dr Bashar S Muhammed

Mohd Zamri Abdullah

Interlocking Bricks Made of Plastic Bottle Waste Silver
25 Professor Dr Nasir Shafiq Petro Ash Cement Bronze
26 Dr Nurlidia Mansor EcoPlasmic TPS Bronze

Francis Wang Sing Yu – Chemical Engineering student

Lai Yong Lin – Chemical Engineering student

Leam Jia Jia – Chemical Engineering student

Patrick Tan Peng Jun – Chemical Engineering student



Dr Mohd Dzul Hakim Wirzal

Mohd Zamri Abdullah

Intelligent Pillow (iPillow) Bronze