Sign In

​MOHE Awards Self-Accreditation Status to 8 Top Malaysian Universities

(20 March 2017)


PUTRAJAYA: The Ministry of Higher Education (MOHE) has awarded self-accreditation status to eight universities in Malaysia for their academic and management excellence.

Its Minister, Datuk Seri Idris Jusoh, said the self-accreditation status is part of his ministry's continuous effort to redesign the Malaysian higher education system.

"Self-accreditation status gives more power to top-performing universities in this country to do their own self-assessment. They have more autonomy in running their own academic programmes," he said during the monthly assembly of his ministry here, this morning.

"We aim to provide the best education system that Malaysia can offer to Malaysians and the world," he added.

Auditing was done by the Malaysia Qualifications Agency (MQA), an agency under MOHE armed with over two decades of experience in quality assurance.

The eight universities which received self-accreditation status today are Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM), Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP), International Medical University (IMU), Universiti Utara Malaysia (UUM), Universiti Islam Antarabangsa Malaysia (UIAM), Universiti Tuanku Abdul Rahman (UTAR), Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN)and Multimedia University (MMU).

Top 8 universities receives MQA self accreditation.jpeg 

The self-accreditation system for Malaysian public and private universities was first introduced by MOHE in 2010. Designed to spur growth in Malaysia’s dynamic higher education landscape, the pioneer recipients of the status included Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), Universiti Malaya (UM), Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM), Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM), Monash University Malaysia, University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus, Curtin University Sarawak and Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak.

"None of the universities which have received our self-accreditation status have lost it. "Their quality is assured," Idris added.