Sign In

​CONVO: Future F1 Car Design Competition


In conjunction with 17th Convocation celebration, a contest to design a future F1 Car was open to all Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP) students from 18 August - 17 September 2017. This contest is organised by UTP Convocation 2017 committee members, UTP Automotive Club (UAC) and Engineering, Prototyping & Innovation Centre (EPIC).


This contest was conducted in hopes that it would provide exposure of Formula 1 technology to students of Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS. It is also to encourage creative and critical thinking among students to solve a problem collectively.


Besides that, this competition supports integration of multidisciplinary engineering knowledge by the students as the need to construct a design for a future F1 car would require knowledge from all engineering fields.


Five teams participated with impressive designs. Judging from the design's concept, visuals, technical viability, and innovation, the top three that emerged victorious are:



Team: Innovation, Design & Engineering Club (IDEC)                

  1. Chandreshah Lal A/L Shamlal                               ME - 2nd year
  2. Wan Amirul Asyraf Bin Wan Basiron                      ME - 2nd year
  3. Muhammad Hisham Bin Mohd Najib                     ME - 2nd year
  4. Melvinder Singh A/L Balbir Singh                          EE - 2nd year



1st Runner Up

Team: ME                  

  1. Ahmed Saieed                                                   Postgraduate -ME
  2. Abqaat Naseer                                                   Postgraduate -ME
  3. Tran Cong Minh                                                 Postgraduate -ME



2nd Runner Up

Team: Flash                           

4     Arvien A/L Subramani                                         ME - 4th year

5     Kavinash Kumar Kunarajah                                ME - 4th year

6     Prasad A/L Madhavan                                        ME - 4th year

7     Sukendran A/L Kumannan                                  ME - 4th year

8     Jeffry Christopher A/L Francis Xavier                  ME - 4th year



The prize giving ceremony was held on the 27 September 2017 at KLCC. The winners were fortunate enough to meet and receive their prizes from F1 driver Valtteri Bottas.    

Congratulations to all who participated and won!