Sign In

  Teeing Off for a Good Cause – YUTP Charity Golf 2015 (10 October 2015)

Industry giants from across the country came together recently for a noble cause - to help raise funds for the Yayasan UTP (YUTP) Bursary.


Organised in conjunction with Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) 15th Convocation ceremony, the YUTP Charity Golf 2015 tournament attracted 80 avid golfers from the oil and gas industry.


ExxonMobil, SapuraKencana Petroleum Berhad, Deleum, OCBC Bank, RHB, Two FS Sdn Bhd, Murphy Oil Corp, Deloitte and Halliburton were among the companies and organisations teeing off at Kelab Golf Sultan Abdul Aziz Shah in Shah Alam.


The event very successfully raised some RM250,000 for Yayasan UTP, which will be awarded to deserving students of the university.


UTP Pro-Chancellor and PETRONAS Chairman Tan Sri Sidek Hassan graced the event as did UTP Vice Chancellor, Datuk Ir (Dr) Abdul Rahim Hashim; President and Country Manager of ExxonMobil, See Kok Yew; Senior Vice President of Sapura Kencana, Datuk Kris Azman Abdullah, as well as other top management personnel of PETRONAS and the industry.


Currently, some 40% of the undergraduate students at UTP benefit from and depend upon loans from various agencies to subsidise their studies and expenses. Yayasan UTP itself has awarded bursaries of more than RM600,000 with some 100 students as beneficiaries annually.


Yayasan UTP was established in 2007 with the main intention to promote and encourage further education in Malaysia while also to support the future development of UTP as a quality and excellent institution of higher learning. In addition to granting scholarships and extending financial assistance to students, this foundation also contributes towards the university’s research and innovation initiatives and supports the development of campus activities in arts, sports and culture.


This year’s charity golf event saw ExxonMobil as the title sponsor contributing RM100,000.  SapuraKencana Petroluem Berhad contributed RM50,000 while Deleum, OCBC, RHB, Two FS Sdn Bhd, Murphy Oil Corp, Deloitte and Halliburton contributed RM10,000 each.


Other sponsors were Satcom Sdn Bhd, Solution Engineering, Soho Solution, Deutsche Bank (Malaysia) Berhad, Barclays Bank and Panasonic Malaysia.