Sign In

Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) would like to congratulate Prof. Dr. Norani Muti Mohamed on her appointment as Fellow of the Academy of Sciences Malaysia (ASM).   She is among the latest of the country’s academics elected as a Fellow at ASM’s 18th Annual General Meeting recently.


Prof. Norani, who is currently holding a position as Director, UTP Centre of Innovative Nanostructures & Nanodevices (COINN), specialises in the area of Thin Film technology, Semiconductor technology and Nanotechnology. She is also the UTP Director of Nanotechnology Mission Oriented Research (MOR) since 2005. She has  founded the Centre of Innovative Nanostructures and Nanodevices (COINN) at UTP with the objective of establishing a library of nanomaterials and synthesis techniques for accelerated production of innovative and beneficial commercialised products.  In 2011, COINN was recognised as NanoMalaysia Centre of Excellence based on its continuous effort on R&D on nanotechnology, focusing on alternative and renewable energy.

Research undertaken by Prof. Norani is very much focused on the cutting edge research areas ranging from novel materials with innovative nanostructures to novel devices. She has maintained a strong relationship of the research to technological applications that resulted in patents for new nanotechnology based inventions which can be commercialised.  Some of her achievements in research have been awarded medals at various local and international exhibitions. 

She has published extensively and participated in international and national conferences. She is also actively involved in International Organisation of Standardisation in Nanotechnologies (ISO/TC229) as the technical expert and as the chairman of working Group 2 (measurement and characterisation) in Malaysia.

With Prof. Norani’s appointment, UTP has now two ASM Fellows. The first Fellow was UTP Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) as well as Director of Centre for Intelligent Signal & Imaging Research (CISIR) UTP, Prof. Ir. Dr. Ahmad Fadzil Mohd Hani, elected in 2010.

About ASM

ASM is a statutory government body formed by the government with a challenging mission that is to pursue, encourage and enhance excellence in Science, Engineering and Technology in support of the development of the nation and for the benefit of mankind. Over the years, the Academy has provided, among others, strategic advice to the nation on the development and policies of Science, Technology and Innovation initiatives to support the nation building.

The Fellows of the Academy are drawn from eminent Malaysian scientists, engineering and technologist in many fields. A Fellow is appointed based on his/her achievements which are considered of extraordinary value.