Sign In

​Youth Debate Challenge 2121

(23 - 26 November 2012)


Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) Debate Club in collaboration with Ministry of Higher Education, Ministry of Information, Communication and Culture, Yayasan Orator, Majlis Debat Universiti-Universiti Malaysia (MADUM) and Dewan Bahasa dan Pustaka recently organised the Youth Debate Challenge 2121 (YDC2121) from 23 to 26 November 2012 at UTP.

The event served as an avenue for young debaters to express and exchange their ideas as well as to develop their oratory and debating skills.

The Opening of the YDC 2121 and its Gala Dinner was officiated by UTP Debate Club Adviser, Dr. Mohd Faris Khamidi on 23 November 2012, while the Closing ceremony (the debate’s final round) was graced by Deputy Minister, Ministry of Information, Communication and Culture, YBhg Senator Datuk Maglin Dennis D’cruz representing Minister of Information, Communication and Culture, YBhg. Dato’ Seri Utama Dr Rais Yatim on 26 November 2012

In his officiating speech, YBhg Senator Datuk Maglin commended and expressed his appreciation towards UTP’s effort in organising this event, as it is in line with the Government Transformation Programme to produce youths who are knowledgeable and able to think critically.

26 participating teams from 14 local and 1 international institutions participated in the event. They consisted of UTP, Multimedia University, Management and Science University, Taylor’s University, Universiti Sains Malaysia, Universiti Malaya, Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia, Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM), Universiti Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia, Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM), Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, Universiti Utara Malaysia, Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris, Kelab Seni Orator Seremban (KESOS) and Persatuan Persuratan Pemuda Pemudi Melayu (4PM), Singapore.

This year’s debate competition is themed “Cultivating the Culture of Science, Technology and Innovation in Communication”, in line with Malaysia’s aspiration to become a developed and competitive nation, in addition to producing innovative and creative society by the year 2020.

Although UTP Debate Team lost in the quarterfinals to the eventual winner, four of its debaters were in the Top 10 Speakers’ list.  The future looks bright for UTP debaters and they will certainly be a force to be reckoned with in next year’s YDC.

The overall results of the final round were as below:

: “Dewan ini Percaya Kemajuan Teknologi Mengancam Nilai-Nilai Kemanusiaan”
Champion : Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM) – Government
1st Runner-up 
: Universiti Sains Islam Malaysia (USIM) – Opposition
Best Debater : Mohd Shahrin Ariff Md Idros (UiTM)


Overall Best Debating Team

: Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)