Sign In

Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) celebrated its 12th Convocation Ceremony

(21 October 2012)


Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) celebrated its 12th Convocation Ceremony on Sunday, 21 October 2012.This year also marked the 15th anniversary of the University’s establishment. Since its inception in 1997, UTP has taken meticulous efforts in ensuring that the students are nurtured to be well-rounded graduates.  Graduates were not only competent with technology, but also competent in humanity that entails leadership quality, critical and analytical thinking for problem solving as well as communication skills.

This year’s Convocation witnessed a total of 1267 of UTP’s students graduating in their respective fields of studies. Of these, 154 are postgraduate students of Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical & Electronics Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, Petroleum Geoscience, Business Information Systems and Information Technology.

The remaining 1113 students were undergraduates from various programmes namely Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electrical & Electronics Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Petroleum Engineering, Business Information Systems and Information & Communication Technology.The ceremony was also attended by members of the university’s board of directors and PETRONAS Management Committee Members that includes President & Group Chief Executive of PETRONAS who is also the Pro-Chancellor of the University, YBhg. Tan Sri Dato’ Shamsul Azhar Abbas and YBhg Datuk Dr. Zainal Abidin Hj Kasim, the Vice Chancellor/Chief Executive Officer of UTP.
The event also saw the appointment of YBhg Tan Sri Sidek Hassan, PETRONAS Chairman, as the Pro-Chancellor.UTP’s Vice Chancellor, YBhg. Datuk Dr. Zainal in his welcoming address urged the graduates to have courage and meaning in what they do and to never compromise their dignity and integrity.  He also reminded the graduates that as future leaders of the communities and the countries where they come from, they have important responsibilities ahead of them.  “Leadership”, he further added, “is a life long journey.  It is not about status, but about who you are and what you do”.

Echoing YBhg Datuk Dr. Zainal’s advise to the graduates on status was UTP’s Chancellor YABhg. Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.  In his speech, YABhg Tun reminded graduates that, “The success of those with university education should not be measured by the positions they hold, or the wealth they acquire, but more by the impact and contributions to others that they have made.”


This year’s Chancellor Awards were presented to Chan Wenzhen (Chemical Engineering Programme) for Gold, Mohamad Azwan Ismail (Petroleum Engineering Programme) for Silver and Tan Xiao Ci (Business Information Systems Programme) for Bronze.


 In his speech, Wenzhen lauded UTP for providing the best platform for any students to excel in their own field of expertise.  His success story was among the many examples of testimonies that proved UTP has produced well-rounded graduates of great calibre, creativity, innovation and potential, in line with its vision and mission.

The ceremony also marked a historic and proud moment for Mohd Abdul Hafiz Abu Tahir, a Chemical Engineering graduate.  Although he was paralysed from neck down from a diving incident during his final semester, he defeated the odds and persevered until the end to finally receive his scroll from the Chancellor.

Other award recipient included Sami Saeed Ahmed Bahakim (Chemical Engineering Programme) for the Best International Undergraduate Student Award.

Two categories of UTP Alumni Award for Best Researcher (i.e. MSc and PhD by Research) were introduced for the first time in this year’s convocation as recognition for the postgraduate students’ contribution towards propelling the university in achieving the Research University status.   For Doctor of Philosophy, the recipient was Abrar Inayat whilst Siti Nur Azella Zaini was awarded for the Masters category.  Both recipients were from the Chemical Engineering Programme.

For the afternoon session, graduates received their scrolls from the newly proclaimed Pro-Chancellor, YBhg. Tan Sri Sidek Hassan.  In his speech, he urged graduates to always integrate the values of integrity and innovation when carrying out their responsibilities.  He also encouraged them to be active alumni and lend their support towards further development of the University.

 Prior to the Convocation ceremony, there were various programmes held such as R&D Exhibition (ACADREX), the Signing Ceremony for the Establishment of a 1MW Solar Farm at UTP Campus and Convo Fair.

ACADREX is organised with the objective of encouraging young Malaysians to innovate and inculcate the culture of innovation and creativity amongst the UTP community. This competition is divided into 3 categories namely; Secondary School and students all over Malaysia, Polytechnic and Institut Kemahiran and UTP Non Academic Staff and Postgraduate students.

In total, 300 applications were received from all over Malaysia and 100 inventions were shortlisted for the finals. Out of these 100, 69 were from secondary schools, 17 from polytechnics and Institut Kemahiran and 14 from UTP Non Academic Staff and post graduate students.

Afterwards, there was a signing ceremony between Institute of Technology PETRONAS (ITPSB) and PV Hi Tech where UTP will lease a small part of its land to set up a 1 Mega Watt Solar Farm on UTP campus.  UTP hopes that with this agreement it will become the first university in Malaysia to set up a 1MW Solar Farm on campus which will contribute points for the Green Building Index.

 UTP and its Student’s Representative Council also organised Convo Fair from 19 to 21 October at its campus. This three-day festivity was officiated YBhg. Dato’ Dr Ismail Alias, Deputy Director General of the Public Service Department.


Various activities took place during the event which included parachute show, cultural performances, martial arts show, fishing competition, paintball and kayak.  There were also performances by local artistes such as Ezad Exist and Amir Ukays.