Sign In

​UTP Team Emerged as National Champion in ACM-ICPC Malaysia al-Khawarizmi National Programming Contest 2012

(3-4 November 2012)


UTP recently participated in the ACM-ICPC Malaysia National Programming Contest 2012 (al-Khawarizmi-12) at UiTM Shah Alam, on 3 and 4 November, 2012.   This competition, which follows the world ACM-ICPC contest model, is a prestigious national level programming competition sponsored by IBM with the objective of recognizing programming talents among students from local universities.  In this competition, teams of three students competed against each other to solve ten complex and real-world problems, within a five-hour deadline.

A total of 48 teams from 19 universities in Malaysia participated in this year's competition. UTP sent three teams which comprised ICT and BIS students.  They were:

Holy Shot
  • Tran Quang Trung
  • Trinh Tuan Duong 
  • Ng Kok Jing
  • Yasothaa a/p Kalai Chelvam
  • Fatin Nur Amirah Bt Mohd Faridza
  • Arief Fikhrie Bin Mat Yamin
  • Chasith a/l Som Sak
  • Pong Kien Ping
  • Mohamad Amirul bin Zolkefle

With 48 teams participating in this competition, Holy Shot proved they were the best among the local universities as they emerged the national champion.  They walked away with RM3,000 prize money, a medal for each member and certificates. As the national champion, Holy Shot has the opportunity to compete in the ACM-ICPC Regional competition held at the end of November in Hanoi, Vietnam.  Meanwhile, Al-Quds and CIS Rep received honorable mentions by the organizers.

Team Holy Shot (Green shirt from left: Tran Quang Trung, Trinh Tuan Duong, Ng Kok Jing)