Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Faculty of Science & Information Technology

​About the Faculty

About the Faculty

Formed in 2011, the Faculty of Science and Information Technology consists of four departments namely Department of Computer & Information Sciences, Department of Fundamental & Applied Sciences, Department of Geosciences and Department of Management & Humanities. 

Department of Computer and Information SciencesDepartment of Computer and Information Sciences

Since its establishment in 1997, the Department of Computer & Information Sciences (CIS) has grown with diverse background of academic and support staff with rich industrial experiences as well as in the academia. We are located at Block 01 and 02 of the Academic Building with fully equipped ICT labs.


​​​​​_DSC8007.jpgDepartment of  Fundamental and Applied Sciences

The Fundamental and Applied Sciences Department (FASD) was established on 1 April 2009, and was formerly known as the Foundation Studies Department (FSD). The formation of FASD would certainly assist UTP in accelerating its move towards becoming a research university.


Department of Computer and Information Sciences
Department of Geosciences

The Geosciences  Department at Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS was established in 2006 and had its first batch of Petroleum Geoscience undergraduate students in January 2009. In 2018, the department is under the Faculty of Science & Information Technology.


Department of GeosciencesDepartment of Management & Humanities

The Department was established in 1997. The department which first started off as the General Studies programme was later renamed as Department of Management & Humanities. To date, there are a total of 38 lecturers with 3 support staff serving the department.